The Court of Appeals of Maryland held that amending a charge from theft of property “with a value of less than $1,000” to theft of property “with a value of at least $1,000 but less than $10,000” without the defendant’s consent changed the character of the offense. Counts v. State, 444 Md. 52, 55, 118 A.3d 894, 895 (2015). Therefore, the court held that such action was prejudicial per se because it interfered with the defendant’s right to defend himself by not giving notice of the exact charges against him, thereby violating Maryland Rule 4-204.
Shields, Kristin E.
"Recent Development: Counts v. State: Absent the Defendant's Consent, the State May Not Amend the Charging Document if the Amendment Changes the Character of the Offense,"
University of Baltimore Law Forum: Vol. 46
, Article 5.
Available at: https://scholarworks.law.ubalt.edu/lf/vol46/iss2/5